Mindmingles

Document

SEO By Industry

Plumbers SEO

Your Page Title

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot A Story, Post, Or DM? Things You Must Know

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot A Story, Post, Or DM? Things You Must Know

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot A Story, Post, Or DM? Things You Must Know

Instagram Stories is one of the most impeccable features of the Meta-owned app. But it does disappear after 24 hours. So what to do so you can enjoy it later as well? Yes, you guessed that right! A screenshot is the solution. You can screenshot it and watch it later again, but does Instagram notify when you screenshot a Story? This question must have popped into your mind, right?

Whether you want to screenshot an IG meme to forward it later or wish to save a precious memory with yourself, you must’ve been thinking if the user on the other end will catch you red-handed. Even if your intent is not to harm anybody’s privacy, it seems awkward, right? .

If you too are in this dilemma, you’ve landed in the right place. So go on reading this post and find answers to your questions.

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot A Story?

Let’s cut it- No.

The Whole Story: Back in 2018, Instagram made an addition to its over-the-top features which came out in the form of an alert notification for users whenever someone screenshot their IG Story. But the feature was revoked within five months after release.

Why?

Stories have always been a go-to option for many on Instagram is to share the news, while keeping the aesthetics of the feed intact. It turned out that the majority of IG users didn’t welcome this feature and consequently, Instagram revoked it.

Even businesses and brands seem to not welcome it well. You must be aware that Instagram has over 2 billion active users among which more than 70% are creators/influencers. Businesses use it for brand awareness. 

In such a scenario, over 400 Million Stories get uploaded every single day on this platform.

So when brand adorers used to take screenshots of Instagram Stories posted by influencers or brands, the platform used to send them a notification informing the same. This became a little unsettling for them.

Now if you were wondering does Instagram notify when you screenshot a story, you must have got the answer. Instagram does not notify the other person if you screenshot their Story.

Since Instagram doesn’t notify a user if someone screenshots or screen records an IG Story, you’ll also not get any alert if someone screenshots your story. Nevertheless, you can hide your Instagram Story from certain 

people to be on the safer side. Here is how to do so:

For Android Users

  • Launch Instagram App and tap on your profile picture or icon in the bottom-right corner.
  • Tap three lines in the top-right corner and then tap Settings and Privacy.
  • Scroll down a little and tap the Hide Story and Live option below Who can see your content.

How To Hide Instagram Story

  • Again tap Hide Story and Live from.
  • Search and choose the accounts from which you’d like to keep your Story hidden and tap in the top-left corner.

For iOS Users

  • Launch Instagram App and tap on your profile picture or icon in the bottom-right corner.
  • Tap three lines in the top-right corner and then tap Settings and Privacy.
  • Scroll down a little and tap the Hide Story and Live option below Who can see your content.
  • Again tap Hide your story and live videos from specific people.
  • Search and choose the accounts from which you’d like to keep your Story hidden and tap on Done. 

Bear in mind that only your Story will hide from the selected accounts and not the posts.

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot A Post?

No, Instagram will not send any alert to an account holder if someone screenshots their posts or stories.

Does Instagram Notify When You Screen Record A Reel?

Like for stories and other posts, Instagram does not send any notification for reels or videos being screen recorded.

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot Messages/DM?

No, and Yes.

Confused?

Well, this time, Instagram made an exception.

Instagram does not notify a user if you take a screenshot of a normally sent DM. However, if you take a screenshot of a message/chat sent in Vanish Mode or Private DM, it will surely notify the user on the other end about it.

So whenever you screenshot a DM done in Vanish Mode, it’ll show a notification in the chat – “[your username] took a screenshot” to the user on the other end.

How To Turn On/Off Vanish Mode On Instagram?

  • Launch Instagram App.
  • Tap on the arrow icon or message icon in the top-right corner of the feed.

Instagram Vanish Mode

  • Then tap on any chat.
  • While on chat, swipe up to turn on/off vanish mode.

The user on the other end will get notified about any screenshot taken by either party until the vanish mode is disabled.

Also, if someone sends you a disappearing message (or photo or video) and you take its screenshot (or screen record video), be certain that the person on the other end will get an alert for this too.

Screenshot Instagram Story

A circle or sun-like mark will show besides that picture or video, indicating that you’ve taken its screenshot.

Final Words

Alike other social media apps, Instagram too rolled out a feature that used to notify users whenever someone took a screenshot of their Story due to confidentiality concerns. But it later realized that the IG community doesn’t give two hoots to someone taking a screenshot of their stories. In fact, people used to get bothered why they were being notified about such a thing. Following the response, Instagram revoked the feature and now it does not send any notification to the users if someone screenshots their IG Story or Post.

However, there is an exception to disappearing messages and messages sent in Vanish Mode.

Instagram, or any other social media platform is wonderful if used appropriately. Now that you know the answer to does Instagram notify when you screenshot a story, post, or message, you must be thoughtful of what you’re putting out on this platform and respect others’ privacy as well. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot A Story, Post, Or Reel?

No, Instagram does not send any notification to the user when someone screenshots or screen records their Story, Post or Reels.

2. Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot A Message/DM?

Instagram notifies the user on the other end when you screenshot a message or DM in the following cases if-

  • you screenshot a disappearing message
  • vanish mode is enabled

3. How To Know If Someone Screenshots Your Instagram Story?

There is no way to know if someone has screen recorded or taken a screenshot of your Story on Instagram. Instagram does not send any notification for this. Nevertheless, you can hide your Story from people on Instagram.

4. How To Hide A Story From Someone On Instagram?

  • Go to Instagram and click on your profile picture.
  • The tap on three lines > Settings and Privacy > Hide Story and Live.
  • Again tap Hide Story and Live from (for iOS users- Hide your story and live videos).
  • Lastly, search the users from whom you want to hide your Story on IG and tap on arrow icon icon (for iOS users- Done).

5. How To Turn On/Off Vanish Mode On Instagram?

  • Launch Instagram App.
  • Tap on the arrow icon or message icon in the top-right corner of the feed.
  • Then tap on any chat.
  • While on chat, swipe up to turn on/off vanish mode.

Gurleen Kaur

Writer & Blogger

Related Posts

Get A Free Consultation
And Estimate

Enquiry Form